Cold Soba Noodle Bowl

Cold Soba Noodle BowlI cooked up some soba noodles at home for the first time last week. I’ve eaten them in restaurants, but have been intimidated by making them myself because they look like whole wheat pasta, which I loathe cooking. But I’ve been eating so much rice for my stir frys that wanted to try something new.

So quick and easy! Literally dump them in boiling water for 4 minutes, drain and rinse with cold water. They are the perfect texture… tender like pasta, but have excellent flavor (pasta is blah to me.) They are made out of buckwheat, but check the label because I saw one that was a mixture of whole wheat and buckwheat.*

 I was using up the rest of the veg I had in the kitchen, so carrot and red pepper were literally ALL I had left, but I can’t think of a veg that wouldn’t be good in here.

Except eggplant. That would be wrong.

What I especially like here is that the veggies aren’t cooked down, so they’re still crisp and full of their vitamins and enzymes and stuff. Also, this took 15 minutes from start to finish… perfect for homeschooling lunch break.

COLD SOBA NOODLE BOWL

  • 2 generous Tbsp. sesame seeds
  • 1 package of soba noodles (mine was about 9 oz.)
  • 1 tbsp. sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp. peanut oil
  • 4 tsp. rice vinegar
  • 2 shredded carrots
  • 1 super-thinly sliced red pepper
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • kosher salt

Start by prepping your veggies and setting them aside.

Cook noodles according to package (see above for how I prepared mine.)

While water is coming to a boil and noodles are cooking, dump the sesame seeds in a dry pan and set over med-low heat. Toast for a couple minutes till they begin to lightly brown and release their nutty scent. Keep an eye on these babies… they’ll burn fast! Set aside to cool.

Next, wisk together the oils and vinegar in a small dish.

After the noodles have been cooked, drained and rinsed toss everything together in a large bowl and dish our individual servings. This makes excellent leftovers because no reheating is necessary and the noodles never get mushy.

(As always, adjust the oils and vinegar to your liking.)

*I’m never quite sure where to land on the wheat/gluten debate, but I saw this book at the library the other day and brought it home. Perhaps I shall be enlightened.

Leave a Reply

