This Week’s Pinterest Loves

I thought I’d wrap things up today by posting a few things from Pinterest that caught my attention this week. Pinterest is more or less my ‘Google search’ when searching for food, craft or organization inspiration. I find the best ideas in there! Such as…

This Chicken Taco Filling from Food Network’s Michael Chiarello. I’d never prepped chicken for tacos this way before, but it was amazing! I skipped the flour and it was no problem. The kids absolutely loved it and asked me to make it again. (Totally unrelated to tacos, but Michael C. once said that microwaves were only good for reheating coffee and baby bottles and I’ve felt a little sour towards him ever since.)

This boiled egg chart is spot-on. I made two batches of boiled eggs this week and both turned out perfectly. Except that my eggs were too fresh and the shells stuck like they were superglued. That will be the NEXT problem to overcome.

 How to Make the Perfect Boiled Egg, Every Way, Every Time

I made this slow-cooker roast chicken the other day because I’m getting tired of eggs for breakfast. I got a little organic roasting hen, put some olive oil, herbs and s&p on it then cooked it on high for about 4 1/2 hours. I pulled it out, covered it in some foil and crawled into bed, then in the morning I pulled all the meat off and had plenty of protein for lunch and breakfast for 2 days. I’m going to use this method a lot. (Hats off to No. 2 Pencil!)

Slow Cooker Chicken - easy and delicious!

 

I am so excited about this one I can hardly contain myself… cold-brewed coffee. I am embarrassingly behind-the-times I guess because I have never done this before. It was so easy and felt like a total treat. I use a coffee press, so I just doubled the amount of coffee grounds I would normally use, filled the vessel with filtered water and left it out overnight. In the morning I poured it into a container and placed it in the fridge to chill. In the afternoon I poured some coffee and half & half over ice and it was like being in a coffee shop. SO smooth and flavorful and not a bit bitter. If you are a coffee drinker, you must try this.

And now off I go to trek the weekend. Blessings!

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Pinterest Loves

  1. I absolutely love the chicken idea!! How easy and painless!! Now if only i had someone to pick the meat off the bones…i HATE that job!! lol
    ~Tonia

    Like

    1. Blech. Me too. HOWEVER, because it was late and I was on my way to bed, I stuck the whole chicken in the fridge and taking the meat off when it was cold was WAY easier. I’ll definitely keep doing it that way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

