Why You Should Be Eating Peaches

Peaches are in season and the local peaches I am bringing home are so sweet and syrupy I feel a little guilty eating them. It seems like a food THIS delicious can’t be as good for you as it’s supposed to be. But the truth is that peaches are incredibly nutritious! I started reading about the health benefits of stone fruits (peaches, nectarines, plums, cherries, etc…) a couple months ago because Dr. Hyman put them in their own category in his book, The Blood Sugar Solution. And then I found this article that is so convincing (and pretty) that I wanted to run to the store and buy every stone fruit I could find.

If you’ve been reading my blog over the last few weeks, or follow my Instagram feed, you know I am ALL about buying local produce, and my favorite source for peaches is Erie Orchards. I have been going to this orchard since I was a kid and so many of my favorite memories are wrapped up in it. Like…

when I was pregnant with our 2nd child and the Mr. drove us all the way out there just because I wanted an apple fritter

and when the kids insisted that we go through the corn maze and then whined the entire time because they wanted out

munching on warm cinnamon donuts while watching wide-eyed as loads of apples were squeezed into cider

And their peaches… ohmygosh. So good! The kids and I took a drive out there just for a box of peaches a couple weeks ago. I might not be pregnant, but I can still have cravings.

peaches

I eat them plain, or add them to things like my chia puddings

peaches 2

or on some crispy, fried polenta

peaches 3

or in a smoothie (recipe below)

peaches 4

Peach Crumble Smoothie

(I didn’t include measurements because I change them all the time depending on my mood or how much I have left of an ingredient. It’s really all up to what you like. I’m not sure how a regular blender will handle oats because I use a Nurtribullet. It pulverizes that stuff! The oats are what makes this drink really taste like a crumble, and not ‘just’ a fruit smoothie, so give it a try.)

  • sliced ripe peaches (frozen or not)
  • almond milk (unsweetened or regular)
  • full-fat coconut milk
  • honey (optional)
  • cinnamon
  • whole oats (probably no more than 1/4 cup)

I plan to stock up on more of these gems before the season is over and freeze them so I can treat myself a little longer. This is the best way to freeze them because, unlike bananas, they will freeze into a big giant chunk if you just stick them in a baggie. (Can you tell I’ve done that before?) If you don’t want to leave the skin on, this is the easiest way to peel them. This method also works well for tomatoes.

A few more peachy ideas:

This 2 Ingredient Peach Sherbet by Scattered Thoughts of a Crafty Mom

Craving a sweet treat? Make this yummy peach sorbet in just a few minutes and with only 2 ingredients! (peach recipes)

I’ve been thinking about making Michelle Tam’s Peachy Pork-a-Bobs for awhile now

Peachy Pork-a-Bobs by Michelle Tam http://nomnompaleo.com

Peaches & cream oatmeal just sounds like a no-brainer. I’d top it with some coconut milk.

Peaches and Cream Oatmeal just might be the best oatmeal you'll ever make! recipe by Barefeet In The Kitchen

Do you have any peach ideas or recipes I should know about? I’m up for just about anything!

If you haven’t subscribed to my blog yet it only takes a minute and then you’ll never miss a ramble or recipe.

Leave a Reply

