Pretty Blackberry Chia Pudding

I’ve been experimenting over the last month with chia puddings and, while several have been yum-worthy, this one blows the others out of the park. It is SO good.

Blackberry Chia Pudding

I used blackberries because Dr. Hyman repeatedly states how excellent dark berries are for your health. I’m not really a fan of berries with lots of seeds, like blackberries and raspberries, but I’m trying to branch out. These blackberries could easily be replaced by any other fruit, though. I have a pint of peaches that need to be eaten up soon so I’m going to give those a try.

This was my breakfast yesterday. I topped the pudding with some granola (the stuff that I said I wasn’t going to eat. shh…) and a little drizzle of coconut honey. Delish!

blackberry chia pudding with granola and honey

How to make it:

  1. Put 1 cup of blackberries in a small saucepan over low heat and cook till the berries have softened and released their juices. Smash about half of them with a fork. Stir in 1 tsp. of honey and allow it to fully melt into the juice. *Omit the honey if you’re going sweetener free.
  2. In a separate container, stir together the berry mixture, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1 cup of full-fat coconut milk, 2 tbsp. of chia seeds (I used white but black would work just as well) and a pinch of salt.
  3. Cover container and refrigerate overnight.

Fiber, protein, fruit & those lovely Omega-3’s all in one pretty bowl.

Chia seeds do not really have their own flavor, so if you haven’t tried them before don’t be afraid! It took me a long time to try them because I was confusing them with FLAX seeds, which taste like fish to me. Blech. Someone once convinced me that some lemon-flavored flax oil didn’t taste bad at all, so I took a spoonful.

I have still not forgiven him.

Look for chia seeds in the ‘natural food’ section of the supermarket, and let me know if you try them. There are unlimited ways you can use these little things!

 

One thought on “Pretty Blackberry Chia Pudding

Leave a Reply

