Easy-Going Pulled Pork

I promised my friend months ago that I would give her my pulled pork recipe. I was going to give her the link to the recipe I use and tell her the tweaks I’ve made to it, only when I sat down to type it all out I realized that it barely resembled the original recipe at all. So, I went ahead and wrote everything down, officially making it my very own recipe.

Yay me!

This really is my favorite pulled pork and the kids ask for it frequently. You just season the roast early in the day, pop it in the oven and it’s ready by dinner. Since I’ve gone sugar-free I keep a portion plain for myself and add BBQ sauce to the rest for the family. I serve it up on those cutsie King’s Hawaiian Rolls for family and guests, and eat mine with some brown rice or quinoa.

Or straight out of a bowl.

While they are optional, I highly recommend using Hungarian hot peppers. They’re not overly spicy and they add fantastic flavor.

I made a recipe sheet that you can download and print for easy reference if you so desire.

valeriefowler-easygoingpulledpork

Click here to download.

What you’ll need:

  • 5-6 lb. pork butt*
  • 1 tbsp. ancho chili powder
  • 1 tbsp. paprika
  • 1 tbsp. ground cumin
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • cayenne pepper to taste
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 large onions, sliced
  • 2-3 hot peppers, sliced (optional)
  • BBQ sauce and buns (optional)

Directions

  1. Pat roast dry with paper towels and allow to come to room temperature. Then heat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Combine all the dry seasonings in a small dish, then rub the mixture into the meat on all sides.
  3. Place roast in a foil-lined roasting pan, preferably on a rack, and cover the whole thing tightly with foil.
  4. Bake for about 6 hours. It is ready when the meat falls apart when prodded with a fork.
  5. While roast is cooling, sautee the onions and peppers in olive oil till soft.
  6. Shred the slightly-cooled meat with two forks, discarding fat and bone.
  7. Toss the meat with the cooked onions and peppers, as well as the drippings from the roast left in the pan, (If making BBQ sandwiches, add the sauce now). and reheat.
  8. Take a bow.

(If you run out of roast drippings, add some vegetable broth to the shredded meat. It’ll add moisture and flavor.)

All rubbed down and ready to go

roast-1

Oh, mommy…

roast-2

Eat me, please.

roast-3

*No, a pork butt is not from the pig’s caboose. It’s actually from the shoulder, so you might find it labeled ‘pork shoulder.’

Kitchen graphics Designed by Freepik

2 thoughts on “Easy-Going Pulled Pork

Leave a Reply

