Dreamy Almond Coconut Banana Smoothie

I’ve been thinking about posting this smoothie since I had the concept for this blog because it’s been a staple in my healthy food rotation for years. It’s just like an ice cream shake except it’s full of nutritious goodies. After I finished The Blood Sugar Solution pre-detox week, however, I learned that my fruit is limited to 2 servings a day for the remainder of the 6 week plan. A banana actually counts as 2 servings because of it’s high sugar content, and since I use TWO bananas in this smoothie, I eliminated it from my routine.

But, my weight has been dropping and everything is going really well, so I decided to bend the fruit rules a teeny bit last weekend and whipped one up.

It. Was. Heavenly.

I posted it on Instagram and got a recipe request, so here it is.

But first, a few suggestions… definitely use frozen bananas. The difference between using fresh and frozen fruit is night and day. Fresh bananas will give you a light, whipped up smoothie that tastes good, but doesn’t create that ice cream texture. The longer they’re stored in the freezer sweeter they get, and the sweeter they get the MORE AWESOME THIS SMOOTHIE GETS. Go easy on the almond milk initially, adding more if you need. Obviously, the less liquid you add, the thicker the shake smoothie is. Also, this is one of those times when you don’t really need to measure ingredients because it’s all dependent on how strong you like certain tastes, how thick your almond milk and coconut milk is and all that stuff.

smoothie1

You’ll need

  • 2 medium’ish sliced, frozen bananas (I only have 1 in the pic)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk (not lite!)
  • scoop of almond butter (you can use peanut butter if you like but almond butter is nutritionally superior.)
  • 1-2 cups of almond milk (any variety, of course mine is unsweetened right now)
  • 1 tbsp. or so of chia seeds

Blend it all up! I use my Nutribullet you see in the background there. My blender made me use more milk but the Bullet has a stronger motor and clean-up is a breeze.

smoothie2

This one is a sad, half serving because I don’t want to make a habit out of OD’ing on fruit.
smoothie3

It will DEFINITELY satisfy your sweet tooth.

4 thoughts on “Dreamy Almond Coconut Banana Smoothie

    1. It’s starting to become a staple in my house. One of those things that I can’t believe are so healthy for you, like avocados, lol!

      Like

    1. YES, I slice them before I freeze. I’ve tried several methods over the years but this really is the best. I slice them into pieces about 1/2 in. thick and then flatten them into one layer in a baggie. Then I stack all the bags in the freezer. That way they mostly stay separate from one another and blend easier. It takes a few extra prep minutes and clean up, but it’s definitely worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

